Speakers tagged: Alison Kock

Alison Kock

Alison Kock is a shark scientist and research manager for the pioneering Shark Spotters programme in Cape Town, where her goal is to improve the relationship between people and sharks through scientific research, awareness and community based conservation strategies. Alison is passionate about finding environmentally responsible solutions to human-shark conflict. She believes that we can use applied research to gain a greater understanding of the behaviour of predatory sharks to improve public safety strategies, and to ensure that conservation and management plans are effective.

Irvin Kinnes

Former chief director for policy and research at SAPS Civilian Secretariat for Police, Irvin Kinnes has deep interest in studying gang cultures in the Western Cape and is currently pursuing a PhD at the Centre for Criminality at the University of Cape Town.

Ivor Chipkin

Ivor Chipkin is the founder and director of the Public Affairs Research Institute and is associate professor in the School of Social Sciences at the University of the Witwatersrand. He has published widely on questions of government, governance and the state, focusing on South Africa, including Do South Africans Exist? Nationalism, Democracy and the Identity of ‘the People’ (2008).  In 2005, he received an Oppenheimer fellowship and took up a position at St Anthony’s College at the University of Oxford. Ivor has also worked for a number of research institutes, including the WITS Institute for Social and Economic Research (WISER).  

Loyiso Nongxa

Professor Loyiso Nongxa is the former Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits) in Johannesburg,  South Africa. The University Council installed Nongxa as the first Black Vice-Chancellor of Wits on 19 May 2003. Besides his positions at universities, Nongxa has also served as a member of the Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee, the SAUVCA Research Committee and various National Research Foundation of South Africa committees. He is currently the Chairperson of National Research Foundation of South Africa. He is a qualified mathematician.